Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 12th, 2010

Well, I dropped the ball (i.e. fiddle) on March 11. So to make up for missing my tune-a-day on day 40, tune 40 (on day 41) is kick ass! Thanks goes to my good buddy Paul, who suggested Old Greasy Coat, and an awesome crooked version of it. I’ve listened to Molsky’s version quite a bit, but I have to say I’m really diggin’ this backyard recording Billygoat and Grandaddy. I checked out the several different versions in the fiddle hangout library. It’s amazing how much a tune can change and mutate into idiosyncratic interpretations but still hit all its reference points and be recognizable.

So check out Old Greasy Coat (a possible reference to condoms, one forum contributor informed me) and rip it up in cross G.

I don’t drink and I don’t smoke and I don’t wear no greasy coat

I don’t smoke and I don’t chew, and I don’t kiss boys like you

Read Full Post »